Odds and Enns

I didn’t really feel like digging up my round-up on all the goings on with Peter Enns, so I decided to just compose this appendix. 

  1. Ben Myers expresses his depression over Enns’ suspension after reading the WTS documents explaining it.  He says of the reasons set forth: “None of this is theological argument. None of it demonstrates why Enns’ approach is wrong. None of it has any relevance for the doctrinal question which the Committee is ostensibly addressing.”
  2. Peter J. Leihart gives Enns’ Inspiration & Incarnation a critical review.  Leithart is always fun to read, and this is him at his best.  I haven’t read Enns’ book yet, but if I know Peter, he’s given it a fair shake. 
  3. Michael Bird offers a little round-up of his own on the latest in the Enns’ saga.  He said: “Let me state my interest in this matter. I’m not trying to accuse or exonerate any one. I’m concerned exclusively with what this entire debate means for evangelicals working in the field of biblical studies.”

And that’s all that I’ve come across in the past few days.  I don’t expect this post to be updated even if I come across more.  My interest has faded, but I wish Enns well, wherever he ends up.

B”H

1 thought on “Odds and Enns

Leave a comment