Church Fathers for Cheap!

CBD is selling the Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers, second series for $69.99 until 11:59 PM (EST) on Monday. The second series is the really good stuff with Athanasius, Gregory of Nyssa, Gregory Nazianzus, Basil the Great, Hilary of Poitiers, John of Damascus, Jerome, et al.; not those dreaded volumes of Augustine and Chrysostom. ;-) I cobbled my collection together with individual volumes and their covers don’t match (plus I’m still missing two volumes). The reason I did so was because it’s been a long time since CBD sold the whole set for such a low price and I couldn’t wait for such a sale to come around again. But if you’re into patristic literature and want an attractively bound set of good books to adorn your shelves then now is the time to strike.

B”H

4 thoughts on “Church Fathers for Cheap!

  1. Billy: Nice! I got the ANF for like $59.99 in 2005 I think.

    Erlend: Awesome! You won’t be disappointed.

    Theophrastus: That’s not bad at all but for someone like me who purchased volumes separately the cost of the remaining volumes is too much to justify. They still want $130 for the NPNF first series and they won’t even be available for another year! Besides, I read most of my Augustine online anyway, and Chrysostom I avoid like the plague.

Leave a comment