On This Day…

On this day in 1517 Martin Luther allegedly nailed his 95 Theses to the door of the Castle Church in Wittenberg, Germany.

On this day in 2004 I had the honor of preaching my very first Sunday sermon at my church in Lakewood, New Jersey. 

On this day two kinds of Halloween are celebrated:

  1. The Halloween of the pagans/occultists which is basically a new year’s celebration.
  2. The Halloween of our consumerist society where decorations, costumes, and candy are sold and bought in order to make greedy people both richer and fatter.

I’m sure plenty of other interesting stuff has happened on this day throughout history, but I don’t know about it nor am I inclined to search it out.

B”H

2 thoughts on “On This Day…

  1. Well, happy reformation day to you too. Now if we could only find a way to tie free candy to it. It could mean more Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups for the both of us.

Leave a comment