On Reading Through Barth

Phil Sumpter makes note of a new blog (via Faith and Theology) in which the author has purposed to read through Barth’s Church Dogmatics in five years at a rate of five pages a day.  Phil said, “I, too, hope one day to read through what looks like an utter masterpiece…” with regard to CD, but I’d advise against it on this basis: Everyone I have read (either in books or on blogs) who has read through CD has ended up either more confused or more confusing for doing so.  That’s why I have purposed to only read through CD I/1 and find out if Barth can really be labeled a modalist or not.  I have the Romans commentary but I’ll probably never get through the whole thing.  Imagine all the beneficial reading I’d miss out on if I were to engage in such a hopeless task… μὴ γένοιτο!

B”H

19 thoughts on “On Reading Through Barth

  1. Well, I’ve read Barth’s CD, and I sure hope I’m not included in that sweeping judgement! (Of course, I’ve also read Thomas’ Summa, so maybe I just have a penchant for reading things that make people go mad without succumbing to insanity.)

  2. Jeremiah: So say his devotees, but his detractors say something else entirely. I’ll have a look see and make my own determination. But it wouldn’t surprise me if he devolves into modalism even if unintentionally.

  3. Esteban: What?!! Darn blogspot blogs don’t generate pingbacks. I’ll check it out.

    Jeremiah: What is? The post Esteban is talkling about or something I said? If it’s something I said then you’re welcome. :)

  4. I’m actually trying to figure out what the purpose of the blog is, besides giving him/her/it a place to demonstrate what an uncharitable dolt they are.

  5. Jeremiah: I had assumed that it was a spoof originally, but then (s)he (?) wrote something and quoted Barth and the quote was in context and actually fit with the babble of the post. I suppose the point was to make fun of Barth, but if not then I’m even more convinced that no one can understand him!

  6. Esteban: Yeah, I re-read the post. I guess I can let it slide. He’s clearly making a point and using the ever-growing popularity of my name to further it. Kudos to him.

Leave a comment