3John Handwritten Greek Text

3john_greek.jpgIn conjunction with Nathan Stitt, I have copied by hand the Greek text of 3John.  I used the UBS4 as my exemplar, and after the entire process I now have a new found appreciation and sympathy for ancient scribes.  My fingers are sore and my hand is throbbing after this excercise.  I made two mistakes in copying the text which I have noted, and I also note now, my tendency to right on a downward slope to the right.  It’s quite unattractive if you ask me.  In any event, I think Nathan’s got me beat on this one, and after doing it, I’m not sure that I want to try any of John’s other writings.

B”H

Update: I’ve made a crude side-by-side comparison which can be seen below.  I erased my noted errors and correction box.

side_by_side-greek.jpg

Update II: Nathan did the exact same thing at nearly the exact same time, although his side-by-side picture is much better. 

5 thoughts on “3John Handwritten Greek Text

  1. LOL. Talk about incredible timing. You update, my trackback, and then comment all within two minutes of each other…

Leave a comment