A Book to Consider in Light of Good Friday

AJCPC.jpgGiven that today is the day we remember Christ’s crucifixion I thought it would be appropriate to recommend a book on the subject. I’m referring to David Chapman’s Ancient Jewish and Christian Perceptions of Crucifixion. In a post written earlier today Larry Hurtado said, “For historical background on the practice of Roman crucifixion and how it was regarded, probably the best source is still Martin Hengel, Crucifixion in the Ancient World and the Folly of the Message of the Cross.” I’ve read Hengel’s book (in fact I quoted from it last post) and it’s a gem. I haven’t finished Chapman’s (who makes great use of Hengel) book yet but I can say that he at least gives Hengel a run for his money in the “probably the best source” department.

B”H

1 thought on “A Book to Consider in Light of Good Friday

  1. I read Chapman’s book last year. I agree. Hengel’s book is still a must have, but Chapman’s should be read by anyone seriously researching crucifixion in antiquity.

Leave a comment