On Blogging Less Often

I opened up the WP dashboard and saw this:

In response to the question about wanting to blog more often I thought, “Not really.”  I don’t know what it is, but so far I haven’t felt much like blogging in 2011, which is why I haven’t been blogging much in 2011.  I don’t want to say that I’m bored with blogging wholesale but I can’t say that I’m excited about it either.  It’s just kind of blah at the moment.  In some ways I like things better they way they are now.  I used to sit around and think about stuff to blog about.  Then came the time when I just started blogging about nearly everything I was thinking.  Now I find myself thinking things that wouldn’t make for good blog fodder so I just keep them to myself.  I don’t know what 2011 will bring but I’m almost positive it’ll be blogging less often.  We’ll see what happens.

B”H

9 thoughts on “On Blogging Less Often

  1. I feel the same way (not that I was a prolific blogger in 2010). Other responsibilities (like work and school) are probably going to limit me though I’ll try to do some.

  2. Same here. As has been evident over the past few months, I’ve not posted much, and certainly not much in the way of academically oriented material. Like Matthew, school, family, and church simply demand all of my time and I rarely have time to post much of substance. This is likely to be foreseeable future. School is growing more demanding (and family and church never slack up), so I may post with some regularity in the summer (oh wait–French, German, and exam prep are my summer activities!). I still sift through the reader daily, and comment occasionally, but not much posting. Oh well!

  3. But your blog’s popularity drives all of those publishers to send you those free books!

    Fewer blog posts -> fewer blog reads -> fewer free books

  4. Matthew: For me it’s not even added responsibilities; I’m just a bit bored with it all at the moment, ya know?

    Jason: Like I said to Matthew, there’s nothing really getting in the way of me blogging as much or more than usual, I’m just not into it right now.

    Theophrastus: I’d better get to it then!

    Seriously though, you’d think that would be the case, right? It’s not though. Most publishers I’ve dealt with have never once asked about stats and I’ve never shared them. But if that was the case then I’d be okay with it since I have enough books to keep me busy until my interest in blogging a lot is rekindled.

    Brian: Yeah, but what I will put up will be so deep that no one will be able to keep up with it anyway. ;-)

  5. You need some good debate to get you unbored with blogging. I’ll think up something we can argue about. It’s been a while and I think we’re about due… ; )

  6. Bryan: Ya know, I don’t even think that would do it. I’ve come across quite a few posts and comments that I thought about responding to in the last couple of weeks and to be honest I just ignored them and deleted the blogs from my reader. It’s not worth it to me right now, but I do always enjoy hashing things out with you, so bring it on! ;-)

  7. haha I don’t think I could post much less. HOWEVER, what bothers me is not having the time to develop the content I’d like to write about. I hate the listlessness.

    I’ll just keep floundering in 2011 and come graduation in December, watch out! ;)

Leave a comment