Rahlfs-Hanhart Septuaginta Initial Thoughts

LXX.jpgRahlfs, Alfred and Robert Hanhart, eds.

Septuaginta: Editio altera

Stuttgart: Deutsche Bibelgesellschaft, 2006. Pp. lxxii + 1184 + 941. Hardcover. $79.95.

Westminster Bookstore | Amazon | Eisenbrauns | CBD

.
.

.

First of all let me say that I made the decision to move the NA27-NET Diglot to the left side of my desk next to my external hard drive for easy access.  I moved Brenton’s LXX to the shelf with all of my Greek Bibles and lexicons.  The BHS and Comfort’s NT Text and Translation Commentary have been moved to the top of the bookshelf next to my desk with my Synopsis of the Four Gospels.  And finally, I’ve moved the UBS4 (not the NA27-RSV Diglot) to the desk since I figure if the LXX is all Greek than the NT might as well be too.  Alongside them is Metzger’s Textual Commentary and Holmes’ Apostolic Fathers.

Alright, now that that’s out of the way let me get to my initial thoughts on this new Bible.  The binding is wonderful as it always is with Deutsche Bibelgesellschaft products.  The “History of the Septuagint Text” (in German, English, Latin, and Greek) is nice; concise and informative.  The Greek text itself is not the greatest Greek font I’ve ever seen and it’s pretty small, but it’ll do.  I don’t know how much of a fan of the verse numbers in the margins and within the text itself I am.  I’m sure there’s a reason for it and I’ll figure it out eventually, unless someone wants to share before I come across the answer on my own.  The A and B stuff in Joshua and Judges looks interesting.  I’m going to look into that a bit more.  There seems to be a similar situation with Tobit.  Also something to look into.  And that about does it for now.  All in all it looks good and I’m happy with the purchase.

B”H

4 thoughts on “Rahlfs-Hanhart Septuaginta Initial Thoughts

Leave a comment