Most Quotable Book of the Year

I’ve been reading Michael Gorman’s new book Inhabiting the Cruciform God and it seems like every other sentence is quote-worthy.  The reason I haven’t been doing quotes of the day is because every day would yield another quote and I’m sure I’d end up violating copyright laws.  Let me just say this: it’s a book worth reading.  Gorman is one of those authors who is tremendously clear and engaging in the way that he writes.  It’s not a chore to read him, it’s a pleasure.  I don’t know that I’ll even offer a regular review of this work.  I’m seriously considering just quoting some of the more fantastic parts and then waxing eloquent about how great this book is.  It might be more of an endorsement than a review.  We’ll see next week how I feel about it. 

B”H

6 thoughts on “Most Quotable Book of the Year

  1. Levi: I plan on ordering that next week. I have the second volume but I’ve not read much because I keep thinking it will make more sense once I’ve read Jesus Remembered.

    The crazy thing about this Gorman book is that I disagree with so much of what he says, but it’s so fun to read it!

  2. That is one of the best books I’ve read in the past month. I immediately bought his previous book, Cruciformity, and read it in three days.

  3. Geoff: I read the preface to Cruciformity but that’s it. A friend bought it after I loaned him reading Paul and I took a quick look at it over his house one day. Would you recommend that I get my own copy?

  4. Yeah, most definitely. Also, Mike Bird’s intro to Paul is excellent, if for no other reason, you should read it so that you can, in good conscience, recommend it to others.

    One thing I am waiting for, though it may exist, is for somebody who reads Paul so well and is so versed in theology to write a book about how Pauline theology relates to the classical spiritual disciplines. I see a lot of possible inroads for that in Inhabiting, but it never quite happens. I think an important question to ask is whether or not the Cruciform God uses grace in such a way that human actions like fasting, prayer, meditation, bible memorizing, journaling, etc transform sinners into cruciform persons. (presuming of course justification of the one trusting the faithful God by virtue of his union with the vindicated messiah)

  5. Geoff: I’ll probably pick up Bird’s book some time soon, but I’ll hold off on Gorman’s until the price drops a little bit. As for what you’re waiting for, I say get to work!

Leave a comment