Decisions, Decisions

I got a few bucks for Christmas and I know that I’m going to definitely without any hesitation get the The Apostolic Fathers: Greek Texts and English Translations, 3rd. ed. but I’m having a hard time on deciding on whether or not I want to get the Westcott-Hort Greek New Testament with Dictionary.  I don’t really need another GNT but as I understand it, they only release this one every so often and once they stop printing it it becomes extremely hard to come by.  I also think that when I really get into textual criticism that this will be a good Bible to have handy.  I don’t know what to do… :-|

I’d appreciate any insight from those who have the Westcott-Hort Bible.  Let me know if it’s worth it. 

B”H

8 thoughts on “Decisions, Decisions

  1. Why the interest in WH? I can understand the Apostolic Fathers but I’m confused why some would want that particular Greek NT? Any other books you’re thinking about?

    Blessings,
    Bryan L

  2. Oh, do get it, precisely because it late might become unavailable. I’ve learned that lesson the hard way. Also, you get a bit more than the WH text: this edition contains full apparatus detailing where WH is different from NA27 and the Robinson/Pierpont edition. That alone makes it worth the price! And then it has Souter’s darling pocket lexicon appended, which is wonderful. I have an old copy of that I carry with my pocket NA26 when I travel; I think everyone should have one!

  3. ¡Gracias mi hermano! I think I will get it. Souter’s lexicon put me over the top! I have made much use of my PDF version of it and to have a hard copy would be great. I think I shall order tonight in hopes of getting them before the new year. :-D

  4. It’s only $23 from Amazon. A hard copy suits me much better than an online version. Other than blogs, I don’t read much online. My eyes aren’t what they used to be and I get really uncomfortable sitting in front of the computer for too long. Plus there’s just something about a book… ya know. Being able to carry it into the living room and read it on the couch is a beautiful thing.

  5. Quite welcome! I’m always quick to support others in book acquisition. ;-) But seriously, this is a must, and I’m glad you’ll get it. If receive an “offering” for Christmas (sometimes I do), I’m hoping to get it myself, along with Barth’s CD I.1, which I need to replace.

Leave a comment