Just Ordered

So I noted yesterday that Baylor University Press is rereleasing some important volumes on early Christology at affordable prices. I mentioned Charles A. Gieschen’s Angelomorphic Christology: Antecedents and Early Evidence (Library of Early Christianity), Carey Newman’s Paul’s Glory-Christology: Tradition and Rhetoric (Library of Early Christianity), as well as The Jewish Roots of Christological Monotheism: Papers from the St Andrews Conference on the Historical Origins of the Worship of Jesus (Library of Early Christianity), and a new volume of Larry Hurtado’s essays.

I had $200 in Amazon gift cards burning a hole in my pocket so I decided to purchase some of these books. My perusal of Amazon turned up even more results and I found that Baylor was also putting out Jarl Fossum’s The Name of God and the Angel of the Lord: Samaritan and Jewish Concepts of Intermediation and the Origin of Gnosticism (Library of Early Christianity) as well as Loren Stuckenbruck’s Angel Veneration and Christology: A Study in Early Judaism and in the Christology of the Apocalypse of John (Library of Early Christianity), and David Capes’ Old Testament Yahweh Texts in Paul’s Christology (Library of Early Christianity).

I proceeded to order all of the volumes mentioned above minus The Jewish Roots of Christological Monotheism because I already own it  and Hurtado’s volume because it’s release is slated for September and I’ll pick it up closer to then. But I’m very much looking forward to owning physical copies of books that I’ve wanted for years but have been unable to attain. Thank you Baylor!

B”H

Leave a Reply

