Why I Don’t Discuss Politics

The title of this post is actually not true. I do discuss politics. All the time in fact. I just don’t like to discuss politics. I think the main reason is that I’m a realist. Being a realist also makes me a political cynic. I have no confidence in the American political system (or any other political system of this world). I’ve come to believe that politicians of any party will promise whatever they can to get elected and then do very little to fulfill those promises unless those promises serve their own agendas and the agendas of those they serve.

And while I’m on that, I think all American politicians, regardless of what side of the aisle they sit on, serve a super wealthy elite . The two party system exists to convince us that we really have a choice. At the end of the day it’s the same folks calling the shots. My vote matters only in the sense that it makes me feel as if I’ve exercised a right. Well bully for me!

But here’s my real issue. When I discuss politics I see people who are optimistic and idealistic and who expect real and significant changes. I don’t think it’s wrong to be hopeful. I do think it’s naive to think that American politicians will bring them. At least if the changes we’re expecting are positive. It’s basically like this: the country is getting worse. It has been in decline for a long time. I don’t see things getting better in a real and significant way until the Messiah returns and ushers in God’s kingdom.

Does that mean we stop hoping for change? No! Does it mean we stop taking steps to affect change? No! To the contrary, we have to occupy until Jesus returns, but I’m not expecting the kinds of changes that I’d like to see until that day comes. If the present US presidential election teaches us anything it should be that bad leaders (and that’s what we’re going to be stuck with regardless of who wins!) are God’s judgment on an unfaithful nation.

B”H

2 thoughts on “Why I Don’t Discuss Politics

  1. Good points.

    I’ve grown weary of discussing politics except with a select few as the optimism often evolves into a loyalty toward a favorite candidate that is too similar to in group loyalty. That ends up preventing issues from even being discussed. Also, voting seems to be seen not as the result of a train of thought that may or may not be virtuous upon examination, but as a signal of actual virtue. So to even disagree with people about anything or to vote differently becomes this weird proof to them that you’re an -ist or -phobe of some sort.

Leave a Reply

