Just Ordered

I woke up around 6:30 AM today and grabbed my phone. I generally peek at my email but today I opened up the Amazon app. I wasn’t fully awake but I pulled the trigger on a couple of books that were in my shopping cart. They were The Holy Trinity Revisited: Essays in Response to Stephen Holmes and Your Will Be Done: Exploring Eternal Subordination, Divine Monarchy and Divine Humility.

The first volume is one I’ve had my eye on for a while. It’s a collection of essays that critically interact with Stephen Holmes’ recent The Quest for the Trinity: The Doctrine of God in Scripture, History and Modernity (US title). I was greatly appreciate of Holmes’ work but had a few complaints of my own. I’ll be interested to see what his interlocutors have to say and see if we share any of the same concerns.

The second volume is one I just recently learned of thanks to this whole blog conversation about eternal functional subordination within the Trinity. Michael J. Ovey is a new name to me but I hope that he’s contributed something meaningful to this debate with this book. Time will tell.

The funny thing is that I fell back asleep for a few minutes after ordering these and I forgot all about it until a little later in the morning after I was at work.

B”H

Leave a Reply

