Back to the Beats

I’ve noted many times throughout the years that I have an addictive personality. Before Christ it was drugs and women. After coming to Christ it was study, books, technology, and most recently music. I used to make music in my teens and early 20s. I always gravitated towards rapping rather than producing but I did produce a little bit back then as well.

Well for whatever reason I got this urge to start messing with music production again. For a while I tried to ignore it because I didn’t think I had the time to learn how to use the software and hardware needed for the task. But the urge persisted and the nature of addiction is to give into urges.

So I got Logic Pro X (for the express reason that it’s made specifically for OS X and I wanted whatever would give me the least amount of trouble). I watched some stuff on YouTube and then started learning the program a little bit. It’s fairly intuitive and I got the basics down pretty quickly but I know it’ll take me a long time to learn the ins and outs.

I made a couple of beats using just my iMac’s keyboard but soon realized that I wanted to do more and was limited by my lack of hardware. So after much consideration and quite a bit of research I decided to purchase a MIDI controller. I opted for the AKAI MPK249 since AKAI is a name I know and trust and it was the second choice of the people who wrote the article that influenced my decision to get a MIDI controller. For the record, the only reason it was their second choice was its price as compared to their first choice.

So now I have the basics. A good piece of hardware and a good piece of software. I’ve been making a beat a day just to get into the swing of things. None of them are complete but that’s okay because I’m trying to learn the program and keyboard. I’ve been posting snippets on Instagram and I’ll probably start putting some stuff up on the blog for kicks and giggles.

So yeah, making music is my new addiction at the moment. It’s fun. I’m not trying to make a living doing this but it’s a nice hobby.

B”H

2 thoughts on “Back to the Beats

Leave a Reply

