In the Mail (and other goodies)

My copy of Brant Pitre’s Jesus and the Last Supper arrived yesterday. I’m really excited about this. I remember reading about its existence nearly 5 years ago (right before reading Pitre’s Jesus and the Jewish Roots of the Eucharist)! It’s great to finally have it in hand!

Skimming through the book tells me that it has much in common with his earlier popular level work. He has obviously fleshed out that work in much more detail. Michael Barber told me that there’s plenty more to this volume as well and that the stuff on the Historical Jesus is worth the price of the book alone. I’ll find out soon enough!

In addition to this book I got the Apple TV and Magic Trackpad 2 I ordered. The verdict is still out on the trackpad. It works well enough but it’s quite different from my Magic Trackpad 1. I like it but it’s going to take some getting used to. Brian Renshaw put me on to Better Touch Tool, which is an app that allows users to assign custom gesture configurations to their mouse or trackpads. I’ll have to put some serious thought into exactly what I want to do with it. So far I’ve set a top left corner click as the means to switch between keyboard languages.

The Apple TV on the other hand is an instant winner. It’s nice to be able to watch all the content on my TV that I was heretofore watching on my iPad. Granted, I already had a smart TV, but the apps were clunky and a pain in the neck to navigate. This thing is smooth as glass and allows for streaming media from my computers, iPad, or iPhone. I mentioned on Twitter that I’m still not a fanboy but I do like Apple products and live in its ecosystem.

And finally, I wanted to procure a pair of bluetooth headphones after seeing a review of a pair of Photive BTH3‘s on Unbox Therapy (a great YouTube tech channel). The only issue was that the reviewer noted that they were being sold for $40 and when I went to check on them they were being sold for $50. That irked me. Also, I began to read reviews and there were many people who complained that the charging port broke quickly. So I gave up on those.

Then a few weeks back I was in BJs and saw a pair of SkullCandy Hesh 2‘s for $70. That was a bit steep but they sounded great. I didn’t pull the trigger that day but I went back a few days later to discover they had sold out. So I gave up on those. Until today. I was getting something at BJs and I saw the same headphones marked down to $50 so I quickly snatched up a pair. I’m listening to them as I type and they sound fantastic!

B”H

Leave a Reply

