Upgrade

Okay, so here’s the deal… My church’s laptop—which we depend on for most things audio/visual during our services—had a busted screen. Someone sat on it or put something heavy on top of it, but whatever happened, the monitor was useless. The aging laptop was slowing down anyway and it was high time that we upgraded. For the past year I had been using my personal laptop (a late-2013 15″ Retina MacBook Pro) to do most of the heavy lifting. I still used the HP to record the audio and display the Scriptures (sometimes, depending on which program I used). I also used it to record the offerings.

So anyway, the church has been saving our pennies for a while now and we finally had enough n the reserves to purchase a new machine. I opted to get a refurbished mid-2012 13″ MacBook Pro. I chose this particular model for a very important reason: Upgradability! This is one of the last models of the MacBook Pro series that can opened up and tinkered with. My personal computer is what it is and it will never be anything else because everything inside of it is soldered down. Not so with this one.

So in addition to the MBP I picked up some extra RAM, an SSD to replace the optical drive, and a bracket to hold the SSD. I also procured an inexpensive set of precision screwdrivers to make the upgrade happen. So after watching some YouTube tutorials I opened up the MBP and made some changes. Here are the specs of the computer when I first brought it home:

Screen Shot 2015-05-28 at 11.34.37 PM

Screen Shot 2015-05-28 at 11.34.56 PM

Screen Shot 2015-05-28 at 11.35.09 PM

So I opened the MBP up and swapped out the stock 4GB of RAM for a whopping 16GB of RAM. This was to aid in multitasking, which is something that occurs every church service. I then replaced the near useless optical drive with a 250GB Samsung SSD. After that I cloned the 500GB HDD onto the SSD and then reformatted the HDD. So now the operating system and applications are on the much faster SSD while I’m using the HDD for storage. There were some issues with trying to set up a RAID array but I won’t go into that because it makes me mad to think about it. Long story short: no RAID! So here are the specs after the upgrade:

Screen Shot 2015-05-29 at 12.14.23 AM

Screen Shot 2015-05-30 at 5.39.07 AM

Screen Shot 2015-05-29 at 12.14.47 AM

I didn’t realize that RAM was 1333 MHz when I purchased it but it’s not that big of a deal. Sure, 1333 MHz isn’t as good as 1600 MHz, but 16GB is way better than 4GB! So I’ve spent all of my free time today installing the necessary programs on our new computer and now I’m ready to load it up in the bag and have it ready for it’s unveiling in church tomorrow. God is good!

B”H

Leave a Reply

