No Rush

So it just occurred to me that I can take as long as I please to write up this review of Bart Ehrman’s How Jesus Became God. Below is the YouTube video I posted with some of my thoughts about the book but it’s going to take a long time to review it. I’ve been feeling rushed to complete this thing but I want it to be thorough, and like I note in the video, plenty of people are saying plenty of stuff about the book already.

I wrote a 16-page review essay of James McGrath’s The Only True God a few years back and it took me three (!) readings of his book, plus more than thirty (!) pages of notes, and peer-review of several rough drafts before I posted it! And mind you that I had the book in my possession for well over a year (!) before reviewing it! I understand the rush in getting out reviews; people want to strike while the iron’s hot. There’s nothing wrong with that. I have no problem waiting for things to cool down.

So suffice it to say that a review is forthcoming, and I’m working on it every day, but I have no clue when it will get done. I’ve been reading other stuff while working up this review, so it’s entirely possible that I’ll keep reviewing other books before I finish with Ehrman’s, and that’s okay, we’ll all survive just the same. Until then, enjoy the video (which is really just audio with a picture of the book).

B”H

One thought on “No Rush

Leave a Reply

