Never Say Never

Disclaimer

WARNING: THIS IS GOING TO BE A LONG POST! READING THE INTRODUCTION AND ONE ITEM FROM EACH HEADING WILL GIVE YOU PLENTY OF CONTEXT WITH WHICH TO PROCEED TO THE CONCLUSION. 

Introduction

Anyone who knows me knows that I hate change. When I get into a routine I like to stick with it. But there have been a number of things I said I’d never do that I ended up doing (e.g., using Firefox, which I no longer use; or Twitter, which I probably use too much!) over the years. At the top of that list was owning a Mac. My main reasons for not messing with Macs could be broken up into three main categories: Annoying Users/Fans; Prohibitive Cost; and Tradition.
This is well documented in various posts and comments on this blog. Below you will see some of these (I stopped searching the comments about halfway through, so there may be many more!). But this isn’t to say that I’ve never considered it. I’ve wondered (I think exclusively on Twitter!) aloud a few times as well. That is also documented below.

Mac Fanboys

BTW, And it’s stuff like this that keeps me from getting a MAC no matter how much people dote over them.  I’m sure I’d be just as disappointed with one of those as I was with Firefox.

By ‘wicked’ I mean ‘Mac users’ and by ‘good news’ I mean Logos Bible Software is almost ready for Mac and they’re currently taking pre-orders.  All the details for you to salivate over can be found here.  Don’t say I never did anything (or as we say in Jersey ‘nothin’) for you.

<rant>I think a large part of my aversion to all things Mac are those horribly obnoxious commercials with Justin Long and that other guy.  There’s so many of them and they’re all the same.  And when I see them they always elicit the same reaction, annoyance & disgust.  I won’t say the actual thought that comes to mind but I’ll give you a hint, it involves me equating Justin Long (who represents the Mac) with a feminine hygiene product.  The commercials just contribute to the fanboyism and that bugs me more than the machine ever could.</rant>

Seth: I suspect that Mac owners in general will find the commercials funny. But rejoice in not owning a TV because if you did see them you might not want to be associated with Macs.

Mapoulos: My problem is that the Mac commercials present Macs like they’re the cool kids and PCs like their unpopular. It’s obnoxious. The PC commercials about price are really just stating what everyone already knows: you get a lot more for your money with a PC. It’s a different kind of value judgment. I can’t say that I’m familiar with the commercial with the little girl you’re talking about. I’ll keep an eye out for it.

the_One: No, it’s not fanboyism to state the truth, but it is fanboyism to constantly rattle on about how wonderful Macs are and how shiny they are and how they do everything short of walking on water. Most (not all) of the Mac users I’ve encountered have acted smugly with an air of superiority and I find it thoroughly annoying. It’s enough to make me hate Macs on principle, because I can’t hate Mac users, now can I?

Bryan: It is fascinating, isn’t it? I just thank God that they aren’t annoying like the members of the Mac cult! ;-)

Tom: Thanks. I always took you for a PC man. It’s amazing that you can be so unobnoxious and be a Mac user. :-P

Prohibitive Cost

Bitsy: Precisely! When I’m older, filthy rich, and have little else to do, I’ll invest in a Mac and tinker with it. ;-)

Bryan: Exactly! Since regular folks can’t afford Macs hardly anyone has one, so of course it’s less likely for them to get viruses!

Seth: Hmm… I’ll have to reserve judgment until I can play with a new version of Accordance but I have a hard time believing it can be muchbetter in terms of power and searching capabilities. I don’t know that Mac supports any of the programs I have since I’ve never had a reason to check. But money is the leading factor in my not being a Mac user. Mac enthusiasts (not you though) are the second leading factor. ;-)

Tradition

Rich: I hear nothing but good things about Accordance from Accordance users. I’ll probably never know how good it is since I’m an avid PC user and since BibleWorks has far exceeded any/all expectations I ever had for Bible software, but it’s good to know that if ever I did switch there’s something comparable out there. And thanks for the link, I’ll check it out.

September 8, 2009

My hatred of Firefox is well documented (see e.g., hereherehere, and here) and I’ve vowed to never use it as my main browser, but in recent times I’ve been having a multitude of problems with Internet Explorer 7. My instinct was to upgrade to IE8 but after speaking to my father who’s been using it for a while I was dissuaded from doing so.  So I’ve decided to just break my vow, as painful as it is to do, and adopt Firefox as my main browser.  And just for kicks and giggles I’ve downloaded  the MacOSX theme.  See, I’ve also vowed to never purchase a MAC but I figured that since I’ve broken my Firefox vow it might be funny to semi-break the other.  My problem now is that when I look at my book reviews the cell padding on the book info next to the book picture is messed up.  For some reason when you compose in IE7 it doesn’t display right in Firefox (and vice versa) so now I’ll probably have to go back and reformat all of my books reviews because I just can’t stand to see them like that.  This is going to take some time because I’ve done over 100!

Jake: Yeah, it’s something of a joke because I vowed to never turn to Firefox, but when I did I went with a Mac theme because I vowed to never get a Mac. I detail it all here.

Jason: If memory serves I think Dan Wallace has something to do with that. I remember Michael Patton telling a story about how Dan threw the gauntlet down years ago and proclaimed the superiority of the Mac to his PC using students. I’m sure Macs are great machines but they’re a ton of money and in the end I don’t like change. I might have my problems with PCs but it’s what I know.

April 16, 2010 at 3:35 pm 
I’m sure that Apple products in and of themselves are fine products. In fact I started out on a Mac in elementary school many years ago. But they’re expensive and counterintuitive at this point. I was actually on the Apple site yesterday watching the videos for Macs and I just kept thinking to myself, “wow, that’s retarded.” I’m used to Windows so changing operating systems would be a complete culture shock. I’m sure it’s cool once you get used to it but as someone who avers change I don’t like the ‘getting-used-to-it’ process.

Roy: Getting a Mac would violate my morals; but thanks for the recommendation.

Rich: I tried a trial version of Accordance that I ran on a Mac emulator and I hated it. The interface was clunky. I’ve seen enough demonstration videos of the latest version run on Macs to know that I’ll probably always prefer BibleWorks to Accordance. But I’m a PC guy so that’s not really all that shocking.

Nancy: I have imagination although I can’t imagine that a Mac is really as customizable as a PC.

Consideration

My friggin computer crashed this morning!  I’ve had to reload everything and as I type this the reload just completed.  This sucks!  At least this time I didn’t have too much on my hard drive of importance.  I’ll have to reload a bunch of programs but that’s no big deal.  But again, this sucks!  It’s very annoying when you spend more than a thousand bucks on a new PC and you have multiple major problems with it within 9 months of owning it!  It’s enough to make me consider a Mac!

September 21, 2009
Can anyone make a case for owning both a PC and a Mac?  Perhaps a desktop of one and a laptop of the other?

So I said all that to say this: I’m happy you’re happy with your Mac but the chances of me ever being happy with one are slim to none (unless of course you want to buy one for me; then I’d be very happy!). :-)

So I downloaded the BasiliskII emulator and Accordance trial version and it was pretty awful.  Very slow and clunky and old.  I’m quite sure that running the latest version of Accordance on a Mac is infinitely better but since I won’t be getting a Mac or Accordance anytime soon I’ll just stick with BibleWorks and Logos which have served me well.  At least I gave it a shot though.

James: I’m sure I would have. Maybe one of these days I’ll end up getting a Mac and putting Accordance on it. Who knows?

April 20, 2012

I’ve never seen so many Macs and iPads in one place before. I want one. Of each. They’re shiny.

December 4, 2013
Every time I consider getting a Mac I go on the Apple website and am immediately dissuaded by the price tag! #pcisthecomputerofthepeople

March 27, 2014
Why do so many Macbook owners appear to put stickers on their laptops? If I paid $2000 for a computer I wouldn’t vandalize it with stickers!

April 26, 2014
I think it’s time for a new computer. I’d like to try a Mac but I’m not wealthy & I generally don’t like Mac fanaticism. So it’ll be a PC.

Conclusion

After much deliberation I decided to shirk tradition; ignore the fanboys; and take advantage of my good credit and get a MacBook Pro! I made up my mind this past Saturday (April 26, 2014) but didn’t pull the trigger until Sunday (April 27, 2014). I spent the night praying about it and then most of the day Sunday praying as well. It was a big decision and I wanted to make sure that I was at peace with it. As it turns out, I was! So Sunday evening, right before Game of Thrones came on, I purchased a refurbished 15.4-inch MacBook Pro 2.0GHz Quad-core Intel i7 with Retina Display along with a Mini DisplayPort to DVI Adapter and a refurbished iPad Air Wi-Fi 32GB. 

So why the refurbs? Well, after doing a ton of research on Apple’s site and reading various online reviews, I discovered that buying refurbs from Apple is akin to buying brand new. Apple says:

Apple Certified Refurbished Products are pre-owned Apple products that undergo Apple’s stringent refurbishment process prior to being offered for sale. While only some units are returned due to technical issues, all units undergo Apple’s stringent quality refurbishment process.

Each Apple Certified Refurbished Product:

    • is fully tested (including full burn-in testing).
    • is refurbished with replacement parts for any defective modules identified in testing.
    • is put through a thorough cleaning process and inspection.
    • is repackaged (including appropriate manuals, cables, new boxes, etc.).
    • includes the operating software originally shipped with the unit and the custom software offered with that system. See each products “Learn More” for more details.
    • is given a new refurbished part number and serial number.
    • is placed into a Final QA inspection prior to being added to sellable refurbished stock.

Refurbishment procedures follow the same basic technical guidelines as Apple’s Finished Goods testing procedures.

But the reviewers (example) who didn’t work for Apple or get free products from them said the same things! So in the end I ended up saving $400 and after having received my MacBook Pro (the iPad will be here Thursday), I can say I made the right choice! It’s working perfect and there was absolutely no cosmetic damage! The only thing was the open plastic covering that the computer came in. No big deal there.

So as I type this my Logos library is 85% loaded on the Mac and I’m looking forward to playing around with it and really learning what it can do. In the end I hope to be able to use PCs and Macs in harmony while avoiding all of the obnoxious douch baggery that comes from the cultish Mac fanboyism I’ve encountered over the years. Pray for me!

20140429_183328

B”H

5 thoughts on “Never Say Never

  1. Now you can run Accordance! Welcome to the club. I, too, was pulled reluctantly into the Apple world. I now run an iPad, MacBook Pro, and a Dell (running Win 7 Pro). They get along fine and I’ve managed to avoid becoming a fanboy—although their customer service is phenomenal.
    James

  2. I think that most people, having hopped on the Apple cart, find it somewhat more enjoyable than they thought it would be. You’ve only begun to know the power of the Dark Side… ;-)

Leave a Reply

