In the Mail (or, for the love of God, no more endnotes!)

Eerdmans was good enough to send along a copy of Michael Graves’ The Inspiration and Interpretation of Scripture: What the Early Church Can Teach Us for review. I’ve flipped through it and discovered endnotes, which immediately makes me want to rip pages 148-181 out! I thought we were past this!

When, publishers, will you accept the fact that everyone who has ever learned to read hates endnotes with a hatred as intense as the beam of light from a thousand burning suns that shines through a magnifying glass the size of the frozen lake that Superman used to save the day at the nuclear power plant in Superman III?!!

STOP THIS NONSENSE AT ONCE! I implore you!

But to the fine folks at Eerdmans I say, thanks again, I’ll read the first 147 pages with much pleasure, until of course, I come across a superscripted number, at which time I’ll murmur obscenities under my breath and curse the day the printing press was invented.

B”H

One thought on “In the Mail (or, for the love of God, no more endnotes!)

Leave a Reply

