My First New Car

I dropped more than $2,000 last year into fixing my car up. I got the timing belt cover replaced and was told I’d go another 100,000 miles with it. Then the car started misfiring and Pep Boys raped me by charging me $100 to do a diagnostic check, which is free EVERYWHERE else, and then an arm and a leg to give me a glorified tune up. I took it back a couple of months later and they told me that my rear suspension was messed up. I got a friend of a friend of my dad to fix that for half of what Pep Boys wanted, but that still cost a thousand bucks! Then the car started misfiring again and I had another mechanic fix something that Pep Boys screwed up when they did the tune up.

So I thought I was good to go and that with regular maintenance (oil changes and whatnot) I’d be able to get at least another year out of the aging 2002 Ford Taurus. How wrong was I! I took the car for an oil change last week and I stopped to get gas on the way. When I started it up it made a weird noise. I got to Jiffy Lube and was told that it might be a loose pulley and that I should keep an eye on it. Two days later smoke started coming into the cabin. Later that day smoke came flooding out from under the hood and filled the cabin. I got the car home, parked it for the weekend, and dropped it  off at the mechanic yesterday.

Apparently my AC pump seized up and that in turn messed up the fan belt. It would have cost nearly $800 to fix and the truth is that the car isn’t worth that much. I made the decision to get rid of the money pit that was my Ford and go for something new. The mechanic made me an offer on the car and I accepted it since it wasn’t any less than the car dealership would have given me on trade in. So I went to my local Hyundai dealer and decided to lease a brand spanking new 2014 Hyundai Sonata. I went with the intention of financing a certified pre-owned Sonata but after doing the numbers there was no good reason not to lease. I’ll end up buying at the end of the lease anyway.

This is the first new car that I’ve ever owned. Previously I have always purchased used cars outright. It’s nice to finally have something with some cool features and a warranty. There’s a certain level of comfort that comes with that. The amazing thing is that today is my daughter’s birthday and I’m the one who ends up with the great gift! And when I say gift I mean that I count this as a blessing from God, who is the giver of all good gifts, regardless of whether or not I’m paying for it. I’d love to show everyone pictures but it was dark when I got it and it remains dark as I type this. But some will be forthcoming!

B”H

Leave a Reply

