In the Mail (w/ a mini-review of my new Bible)

A hearty thank you goes to my friend and pastor Dino for having the church purchase my new UBS Greek New Testament: Reader’s Edition with Textual Notes. I already love this Bible more than most any of my other Greek texts.

To start, the imitation leather cover isn’t trying to fake at being leather at all; it’s akin to Crossway’s Trutone or Zondervan’s Italian DuoTone, which are really their own thing and not leather substitutes at all. Personally, I love the look and feel of the material.

Secondly, the pages are opaque and sturdy. No bleed-through from the opposite side of the page or the pages behind. It’s possible that there’s even a little less bleed-through than in the hardcover first edition of the same Bible! The weighty paper is a genuine pleasure. Definitely not the onion paper one is used to in a lot of Bibles.

Thirdly, there are two ribbon markers! And what’s more is that they’re both long enough to actually be useful! Some Bibles of similar size and design give short ribbon markers that are practically useless. Not the UBS! Right now I have one in ΚΑΤΑ ΙΩΑΝΝΗΝ and the other in ΙΩΑΝΝΟΥ Α because I plan to take a close look at how the letter builds off the Gospel and offers a commentary on it.

Lastly, I appreciate the truncated textual apparatus noting significant variants that, according to the compiler Florian Voss, “significantly impact the meaning of the text” (11*). I haven’t looked at it in depth but it is certainly a welcome addition to the running Greek-English dictionary compiled by Barclay M. Newman.

I can already tell that I’m going to be getting a lot of use out of this Bible!

I was also blessed with a copy of Alan Kurschner’s Antichrist Before the Day of the Lord: What Every Christian Needs to Know about the Return of Christ, which was sent to me by Alan himself. Alan takes a pre-wrath view of the rapture, which happens to be the one view with which I am not familiar, so I am looking forward to learning about it from someone who I know is an able interpreter of Scripture.

B”H

4 thoughts on “In the Mail (w/ a mini-review of my new Bible)

Leave a Reply

