In the Mail

I got my CBD order, which was placed just two days ago! Once again, I got the Nestle-Aland 28th Edition with NRSV/REB Greek-English New Testament; Moreschini & Norelli’s Early Christian Greek & Latin Literature: A Literary History, 2 Volumes; and Alexander Souter’s Compact Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament. I opted for slightly damaged copies of the latter two works and I’m happy to report that the damage of both is barely perceptible. The Early Christian Greek & Latin Literature volumes have a tiny dent on the hardcovers. The Lexicon has small dents at the top of some pages that aren’t discernible once the book is opened. I couldn’t be happier with these purchases!

I am, however, somewhat let down by the format of the NA28 w/ NSV/REB. I wasn’t quite sure how it would be laid out but my fear of a double-columned English page was confirmed. The NRSV and REB translations appear side-by-side on one page while the Greek text is in a single column on the facing page. I also wasn’t crazy about the entire text of the REB being italicized. As a resource this is still quite valuable; but it offends my aesthetic sensibilities just a little bit. Had I seen examples of the layout before purchasing this Bible I might have chosen differently (although probably not).

B”H

Leave a Reply

