Just Ordered

I just received a sizable gift card from CBD so I decided to ball out and get a few things that I’ve been eyeing for a while. I was torn over whether or not to get the Biblia Graeca, which combines the Rahlfs-Hanhart Septuagint and the Nestle-Aland 28th edition Greek New Testament, but in the end, after weighing my options, I decided against it. I already have both volumes individually and couldn’t justify spending $125 on simply having them bound together. I did, however, decide to get the Nestle-Aland 28th Edition with NRSV/REB Greek-English New Testament for a couple of reasons. To start, it’s a nice update to my NA27/RSV diglot. Secondly, I don’t have the REB in any format, so having it bound with the latest critical GNT is a bonus!

I also took advantage of a couple of slightly imperfect deals. Namely Moreschini & Norelli’s Early Christian Greek & Latin Literature: A Literary History, 2 Volumes. CBD had a midweek markdown years ago and offered this for $15 and I missed the opportunity to get it. I vowed to get it should such a chance ever present itself again, so when I saw it today for $19.99 I had to jump on it. Likewise, I procured Alexander Souter’s wonderful little Compact Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament for $11.24. This is the lexicon found in the back of the Westcott-Hort GNT published by Hendrickson but I thought it appropriate to have it as a standalone volume as well. My history with this lexicon goes back to the early 2000s when I discovered a PDF scan of it online. I’ve used it with great profit in various formats over nearly the last decade!

And if I may say a word about CBD’s slightly imperfect stock; it should be called nearly perfect. I’ve ordered a number of slightly imperfect volumes over the past few years and the flaws have been negligible. I’m actually still looking for them on my Synopsis of the Four Gospels! So I hope to have these books by Thursday at the latest. Knowing CBD, they’ll probably ship today and it’s possible they’ll arrive as early as Wednesday, but whatever their delivery date, I can’t wait!

B”H

Leave a Reply

