On Having No Reason to Complain

Both last night and the week before I was set up to teach on the doctrine of Scripture at Bible study. I spent time studying and preparing notes and both times I ended up not getting the opportunity to teach because the Holy Spirit took us in a different direction. Last week it was mass deliverance; last night was good ol’ fashioned praise and worship with a healthy dose of prophecy thrown in for good measure. Such is the life of a Pentecostal congregation.

But both times I found myself slightly annoyed that I devoted time to studying and preparing only to have to put the work on the back burner. Then I realized that I have no reason to complain. I actually got to devote time to studying and preparing to teach! What a privilege! I love spending time in the Scriptures. I love digging into the text and learning from and being transformed by it! It’s not a burden; it’s a blessing!

B”H

2 thoughts on “On Having No Reason to Complain

  1. Dear Nick,

    I can relate, but I remind myself of the following:

    And let us not be not weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not. (Galatians 6:9)

    In every thing gives thanks; for this is the will of God concerning you in Christ Jesus concerning you. (I Thessalonians 5:18)

    Not that I speak in respect of want; for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content…. I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me (Philippians 4:11, 13)

Leave a Reply

