Responding to Recent Reviews: Introduction

It’s nice to see that Chris Tilling’s Paul’s Divine Christology has received attention in two recent reviews. I believe that this monograph makes a significant contribution to the study of Paul’s Christology in general and the divine Christology debate in particular. However, after having read the short review by Matthew V. Novenson in a recent edition of The Expository Times and a much longer review article by Nijay K. Gupta in The Journal for the Study of Paul and His Letters, I believe that the attention it has received has been marred by misunderstanding. To put it bluntly, it seems to me that each reviewer could have paid better attention to Tilling’s work, which would have negated several of their criticisms. In the interest of keeping my rebuttals readable, I’ve decided to offer a series of brief posts detailing where I feel the reviewers have missed Tilling’s argument and why.

Stay tuned…

B”H

2 thoughts on “Responding to Recent Reviews: Introduction

  1. I look forward to your comments. I’m not saying this about either Novenson or Gupta, as I haven’t read their reviews, but sometimes it seems like some reviewers criticize the work of others just for the sake of criticizing.

Leave a Reply

