In the Mail

A while back Denny Burk had mentioned a new volume addressing the debate among evangelicals over subordination in the Trinity. The other day Fred Sanders had some things to say about this book as well.

When I initially heard about it I saw that a number of the chapters appeared to have been published previously so I held off on requesting a copy for review because I was unsure of how much of the book was fresh. But Fred’s comments drove me to request a copy of The New Evangelical Subordinationism?: Perspectives on the Equality of God the Father and God the Son and it arrived today courtesy of Wipf & Stock.

After flipping through the book I can confirm that half of it is new and the other half is revised material that has appeared elsewhere. Many of the previously published chapters can be found in their original form on my Trinitarian Resources page, but for your convenience I’ll list them here in the order they appear in the book:

Cary, Phillip. “The New Evangelical Subordinationism: Reading Inequality Into the Trinity.” Priscilla Papers 20/4 (2006): 42-45.

Ware, Bruce A. “Equal in Essence, Distinct in Roles: Eternal Functional Authority and Submission among the Essentially Equal Divine Persons of the Godhead.” Journal for Biblical Manhood and Womanhood 13/1 (2008): 43-58.

Burk, Denny. “On the Articular Infinitive in Philippians 2:6: A Grammatical Note with Christological Implications.” Tyndale Bulletin 55/2 (2004): 253-74.

Johnson, Keith E. “Trinitarian Agency and the Eternal Subordination of the Son: An Augustian Perspective.” Themelios 36/1 (2011): 7-25.

I look forward to working through the new material but I’m fairly sure that I’ll find it all frustrating as I have this entire debate for all the years I’ve been paying attention to it. Nevertheless, I have to keep paying attention in hopes that someone, somewhere, will turn a new corner.

B”H

One thought on “In the Mail

Leave a Reply

