Judgmental Irony

I was going to record some thoughts about this last night because I was too tired to write but I ended up watching TV and going to sleep. Now I have enough energy to write so I’ll be doing that.

I work with a guy who fancies himself a Muslim. To be fair, his parents are Muslims, or so I’ve been told, and he was raised a Muslim, or so I’ve been told, but I’ve known a number of Muslims over the years, and I don’t recognize their faith in him. He seems rather to have a hodgepodge patchwork theological philosophy that he’s concocted over the years. Just yesterday I heard him espousing belief in something that seems strangely like the Catholic concept of purgatory as well as an Eastern view of reincarnation. I’ve never known a Muslim to believe such things. But what do I know? Anyway…

This guy is highly critical in general, but especially when it comes to Christians, even more so when it’s Christians he knows personally. The second a Christian makes a mistake he takes it as an opportunity to declare their unrighteousness. You see, had they really been righteous, they’d never mess up, in any way, ever. But that’s to misunderstand exactly how and why Christians can be called righteous in the first place. We’re the righteousness of God in Christ. Get that? IN. CHRIST. Anyway…

Today my coworker was filleting a Christian’s character and judging him unrighteousness because this particular Christian didn’t handle a situation the way that my Muslim coworker felt he should have. Did I neglect to mention that the slightest disagreement with my coworker is grounds for unrighteousness? Seriously. It’s his stock reply whenever (and that’s no exaggeration) you disagree with him. Anyway…

So in the midst of claiming this particular Christian unrighteous, I asked him what exactly he meant by “righteous.” I pointed out how he likes to throw the term around as if everyone automatically knows what he means but then I suggested that maybe we don’t. Well, he accused me of trying to play word games and he didn’t want to explain what he meant by righteous. Fair enough. I guess. Anyway…

So I asked him if he ever falls short of his standard. He said only in certain situations, like if someone was to put their hands on him (i.e., threaten him physically), so I pointed out that he does, in fact, fall short. In other words, he can’t even maintain his standard of righteousness. Imagine trying to maintain God’s! Anyway…

In the midst of his vitriol against this particular Christian, my coworker referred to Matthew 7 and said that Jesus is all about fairness and equality. He said that the Christian doesn’t judge (= treat) everyone fairly and he’s not righteous because he doesn’t live righteously. Now remember, he just admitted that he doesn’t always meet his own standard. And therein lies the irony. He cites a passage of Scripture that speaks of making hypocritical judgments while making a hypocritical judgment!!!

And this, ladies and gentlemen, is what I deal with every day. Thank God for working patience in me because it’s hard to keep my cool sometimes.

B”H

4 thoughts on “Judgmental Irony

  1. Interesting. In my experience, American converts to various religions (Buddhism, Hinduism, and even Islam) tend to have all sorts of mixtures in their theology. For instance, when I was hanging out in a Tibetan Buddhist monastery in Kathmandu, they thought Richard Gere (who had visited that monastery) was a bit of a funny Buddhist. I.e., adhered to most of their basic philosophies, but wasn’t entirely consistent.

    Anywho…

Leave a Reply

