Exciting News (or, Why Things Have been Slow ‘Round These Parts)

As I noted not long ago, things have been slow ’round here, and I gave a reason for that, i.e., I hadn’t been reading much. Well, there were other factors involved in my lack of blogging as well; factors I can now talk about.

To start, I’ve been doing a lot for my church and my pastors. I’ve been helping out at my pastor’s barber shop and picking up the slack at the church’s thrift store, plus I’ve been busy with general church stuff. In addition to this I’m a father, so as you can imagine, that takes up some of my time.

But the real reason for the lack of output has been that I’ve been finalizing my first book deal! I’ve known for quite some time that I had a book in me and it’s finally out of me and in the hands of a skilled editor and publisher. I’ve just inked the deal and can now share a bit about it.

The book is called Spanish as a Second Language: Confessions of a Monolingual Anglican and it’s a semi-biographical action-fantasy novel about John Shelby Spong’s journey into the unknown world of learning theological Farsi. It’s scheduled to be published sometime in the summer of 2013 by the Wipf L. Ball Publishing Comany.

Words can’t express how excited I am to finally unleash this thing upon the world. I have already secured endorsements from Bishop Carlton Pearson; Benny Hinn; the ghost of Nestorius; and I’m hoping and praying that Rachel Held Evans will lend her name to the back cover (fingers crossed!).

So that’s what I’ve been up to…

B”H

6 thoughts on “Exciting News (or, Why Things Have been Slow ‘Round These Parts)

  1. Too funny. LOL. But you seriously should write books, especially concerning Christological and trinitarian issues. I definitely would buy it.

  2. Tom: You’ll just have to wait and see! :-P

    Hodge: Thanks. That’s the plan one of these days. I just have to bite the bullet and get to writing. I keep waiting to be “ready” but I’m slowly realizing that I’ll never be “ready.” I just need to put pen to paper and get something out.

Leave a Reply

