Movie Notes

It’s been a couple of months since I’ve mentioned any movies on the blog. I’ve tweeted the occasional note here and there but here’s everything I can remember seeing collated in one convenient post.

Immortals – So much better than 300. I enjoyed this more than I thought I would, which is always a good thing. Good story; good action; great effects.

Over the Top – This was a flick that I saw in the theater with my dad when it first came out. I liked it better back then. Not as much arm wrestling as I remember and the kid was annoying as all get out.

Transformers: Dark of the Moon – Better than the last Transformers movie but not nearly as good as the first. The biggest improvement in this one was being able to follow the action a bit better. But the story was lame as I’ve come to expect from these flicks.

The Apostle – One of my favorite movies of all time. Robert Duvall plays a complex character who loves the Lord but falls into sin and loses his family. While he’s on the run from the law he appoints himself an apostle and starts up a church. It’s one of the finest movies Duvall has ever made.

The Encounter – My mom turned me on to this one. It’s basically a tale about a bunch of people who encounter Jesus in the flesh. There’s plenty of theological content to think about, such as predestination & free will, but in the end the movie itself is pretty cheesy.

Michael – One of the most disturbing films I’ve ever seen. It’s an Austrian film about a pedophile who keeps a 10 year old boy prisoner in his basement. It’s not really graphic, but the subtext is what’s so disturbing.

Boy Wonder – A decent vigilante film about a boy looking to get even with his mother’s killer. Nice little twist at the end.

Pulling John – A documentary about an arm wrestler named John Brzenk who has been on top of the game for 25 years. It’s really about arm wrestling more generally but he’s the character that everything and everyone centers around. I enjoyed it.

Ip Man – One of the best martial arts flicks I’ve ever seen. Really good choreography in the fight scenes, a bit of humor, and a touching story behind it all.

Ip Man 2 – Not quite as good as the first film but I liked it for all the same reasons.

Dazed and Confused – A classic. I’ve loved this movie since I was in high school. I only watched it because it was about to go off of Netflix and I didn’t want to miss it. Never disappoints.

Drive – Good violence. That’s about the only good thing I can say about this one. The story was pretty much nonexistent. I couldn’t bring myself to care about any of the characters.

Descent – Probably the most disturbing movie I’ve ever seen. Two horrible rape scenes that took me more than a week to get out of my head. I do not recommend this to anyone for any reason. I wish I hadn’t watched it.

Killer Elite – Jason Statham, Robert De Niro, and Clive Owen in a movie that’s allegedly based upon true events that have to do with assassins in the 80s; what’s not to love? I thought the story, action, and acting was above par in this one.

The Big Year – I love everything that Steve Martin does so it was no surprise that I enjoyed this one. He teams up with Jack Black and Owen Wilson in a movie about “birders” whose goal is to see as many species of bird as possible in a year’s time. Doesn’t sound all that exciting or funny when I describe it, but it is. Well worth 2 hours of your life.

Final Destination 5 – As far as Final Destinations go, this was on par with the last two movies. The first two were light years beyond any that followed. I thought this was decent and then at the end it was revealed that this was a prequel to the first film. That made me like it less.

B”H

2 thoughts on “Movie Notes

  1. I’m half way through Immortals and can’t see how you think it’s better than 300. Starting to think we don’t have same taste in action movies since you really liked Expendables and I thought it was average. However you did like Ipman and I loved that movie.

  2. Bryan: I thought 300 was okay. But the action and story in Immortals is better in my opinion. And I honestly think that The Expendables might be the best action movie ever!

Leave a Reply

