EThOS Redivivus

Quite some time ago I made much use of the British Library Electronic Theses Online Service (EThOS). I was able to request a number of theses and I received the lion’s share of my requests. Unfortunately, some of the more important requests could not be provided for varying reasons. Well, I happened to check back with EThOS tonight after a long hiatus, and I was overjoyed to find that they had uploaded a number of theses on Christology that I haven’t previously seen. I just downloaded about a dozen but here’s a couple of standouts:

  • C. A. Wanamaker, “The Son and the Sons of God: A Study in the Elements of Paul’s Christological and Soteriological thought” (University of Durham, 1980).
  • Arie W. Zwiep, “The Ascension of the Messiah: An Inquiry Into the Ascension and Exaltation of Jesus in Lukan Christology” (University of Durham, 1996).
  • Matthias Reinhard Hoffmann, “Angelomorphic Chrisology and the Book of Revelation” (University of Durham, 2003).
  • James Frank McGrath, “John’s Apologetic Christology: Legitimation and Development in Johannine Christology” (University of Durham, 1998).

I’ve read some of McGrath’s dissertation but it’s nice to have the entire thing in an electronic format. I have the published version of Hoffmann’s work for review from Mohr Siebeck, but again, it’s nice to have a digital copy. I also downloaded a few things dealing with Patristic Chrisology that look exciting. Thank God for online research databases like EThOS! I’m glad they seem to be back in business. I had written them off for quite a while.

B”H

One thought on “EThOS Redivivus

Leave a Reply

