Bruschetta

I made some bruschetta a little while ago that I plan to eat later. Technically, it’s a bit of a misnomer to call what I made bruschetta, since bruschetta generally has reference to the grilled/toasted bread that the topping I made is served on. That’s why bruschetta is such a versatile dish; you can top grilled/toasted bread with an endless array of combinations.

Mine consists simply of tomato; basil; red onion; garlic; extra virgin olive oil; and fresh ground black pepper. I won’t add salt until I’ve put it on the bread. Here’s the recipe for what you see pictured above:

  • 1½ large tomatoes
  • 12 large leaves of basil
  • ½ small red onion (diced)
  • 3 large cloves of garlic (minced)
  • ¾ to 1 cup of extra virgin olive oil
  • Black pepper to taste.

I don’t add salt at this point because it will break down the tomatoes and I want them to retain their integrity. Sometimes I add freshly grated pecorino romano cheese but not today. I didn’t feel like opening a new brick. I can still add it when I’m ready to eat.

B”H

Leave a Reply

