Tonight’s Dinner: Baked Chicken and Pan Roasted Potatoes

For dinner tonight I made baked chicken (one of my favorites!) and pan roasted potatoes.

Above you see 4 ordinary chicken thighs that have been washed.

After washing I seasoned them with (kosher) salt, fresh ground black pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder.

Then it’s into a 350° (f) preheated oven for 1 hour. No need to cover the dish (I use CorningWare but any baking vessel should do) since the skin will protect the flesh and keep the meat moist.

And this is what comes out after an hour. The quality of the picture doesn’t do this chicken justice. The skin is nice and crispy and the meat is still moist (dark meat is hard to screw up).

As for the potatoes; I start out by par-cooking them whole and then slicing them into ¼ to ½ inch slices. Place them in a large skillet that has had some oil (I used vegetable but corn, canola, or olive oil would work just as well) heating.

I let the potatoes saute for a few minutes before flipping. After a few more minutes I add diced red onion and a couple of sprigs of thyme. Above is what it looks like when it’s done.

And here’s the composed plate. Why all the white space? Because I had to save room for the corn. Why didn’t I take a pic of the corn? Because if you’ve seen corn once you’ve seen it a million times. Plus this just looks nicer.

So there you have it. Baked chicken with pan roasted potatoes. If you decide to try your own version let me know how it turned out. Mine turned out delicious!

B”H

Leave a Reply

