What a Dumb Dismissal (or, I get it, but I don’t like it very much)

So the news broke about Anthony Le Donne’s departure from Lincoln Christian University (also check out Brian LePort’s thoughts). Apparently his little gem of a book caused some of the donors to become upset and pressure the administration to fire him.

Here’s why I’m bummed about this news. Le Donne’s book was fantastic and well within the realms of Christian orthodoxy. I say that is an avowed conservative Christian. The main point of the book was to raise the issue of method in doing history and I can’t see why that would bother anybody. Even if Le Donne drew conclusions that folks didn’t agree with, so what? They were peripheral to the actual point of the book. And as I mentioned in my review, even though Le Donne considers his method postmodern, there’s something refreshingly premodern about it.

But on the other hand, I get it, the administration had to do what they had to do. You can’t upset the people who write the checks. I guess you could, but then what? You wouldn’t have funding to educate anyone. Who wins in that scenario? Nobody. It’s a pity this all didn’t work out differently. I pray that Le Donne finds employment soon; I’m sure it won’t be much of an issue; he’s clearly gifted.

B”H

4 thoughts on “What a Dumb Dismissal (or, I get it, but I don’t like it very much)

Leave a Reply

