Random Reacquaintance

I went to my friend’s funeral this morning and then after that I went to get something to eat with a friend. I returned home and received a phone call from my pastor telling me that he was with my friend Gino that I went to high school with and he wished I would have hung around after the funeral. I told him that I didn’t have any friends named Gino and I didn’t go to high school with anyone named Gino. He put Gino on the phone and after a few minutes I couldn’t place the fellow. Then he said his last name and I remembered him, only his name isn’t Gino, or at least we never called him that; his name is Eugene.

We weren’t exactly tight in high school either but whatever. I went over my pastor’s house and hung out with the guy for a while and I just dropped him off at his house. We didn’t spend so much time catching up as I did ministering to him. He’s a guy who’s going through a rough time and searching for truth and I know he’ll only find it in Christ. All in all I think it went well. We exchanged numbers and I hope to see him come out for church in the future. We’ll see what happens.

B”H

Leave a Reply

