The Bible Teacher’s Desk

The other day Brian Fulthorp wrote about the Bible teaching pastor’s desk and quoted Walter Kaiser as saying:

The exegete [i.e., the Bible teacher] should keep on his [or her] desk a well-marked text book of Biblical theology along with lexicons and grammars.  It will also be most helpful if that textbook has a Scripture index and a theme index so that the exegete may use this tool quickly without having to leaf through the whole book to find pertinent comments on the subject under investigation.

He then asked what our desks look like. We all know how much I love snapping pictures of my desk, and I happened to have the camera out, so here’s a couple of pics. I personally don’t any Biblical theology books on my desk; they have a shelf-and-a-half in the hallway. I do however have some grammars, lexical aids, and Hebrew/Greek texts on my desk in addition to a couple of English translations of the Bible. Here’s the left and right sides of my desk respectively:

You can’t see them, but right under the TNIV slip cover in the left photo is C. L. Seow’s A Grammar for Biblical Hebrew and the accompanying handbook.

B”H

10 thoughts on “The Bible Teacher’s Desk

  1. Brian: Thanks, I’m happy with it!

    Rich: Thanks! Yeah, it’s in the middle, just not pictured. I figure if you’ve seen my laptop once you’ve seen it a thousand times.

  2. Nice pictures, Nick! Unfortunately, my desk is not very big, so I don’t have very many books on it — and what books I do have are mostly liturgical in nature, since I work on rubrics for services every week. (Actually, I just looked, and all the books on my desk are service books, with the exception of my Classical Greek-Spanish dictionary, which I use to look up words in liturgical texts!) I have eclectic stacks of book on the dining table, one of the chairs in the living room, and on an end table next to said chair, each location within 5 feet of my desk. That is in addition to the library room, which like everything else is crammed and in utter disarray. So, I guess I’m drowning in books.

  3. T. C.: I hang at my desk all the time, and while I’m not very organized in general, I give my books special treatment. ;-)

    Esteban: I think it’s time you posted some pics! I’d love to see the library room in all its disarrayed glory! BTW, which Greek-Spanish dictionary in particular do you have?

  4. Nick> Never! It looks like Amazon’s warehouse threw up in there.

    I have Old Faithful, of course — the Diccionario manual Vox griego-español. It’s a staple of Classical philology in the Spanish speaking world. I got my copy like 20 years ago for $15; last I checked, it was up to $40. A Google searched turned up quite a few places where its contents can be, uh, seen. ;-)

  5. Esteban: Dude, just email them to me! You don’t have to post them on your blog! ;-) And thanks for pointing out that the Diccionario manual Vox griego-español can be “previewed” online.

  6. Huh. I might just do that. ;-)

    And, um, you’re welcome! Needless to say, the list of complaints that people have about this dictionary is miles long, but no one else has yet sat down to prepare a better one, so they can all bite it. Actually, that’s not strictly true: Sanz Franco prepared a very useful dictionary which I used quite a bit, and which in some ways I prefer, but it is organized by lexical roots, which makes it difficult to use, and it is not nearly as comprehensive when it comes to semantic domains, so it still doesn’t supersede Pabón’s — even if the latter is wrong on occasion.

  7. Esteban: I think you’ve found your first publishing project! If anyone can do it, and do it right, it’s you! Get on it man. I’ll buy one… Well, I’ll request a review copy of one! ;-)

Leave a Reply

