Because I’m Bored and We All Love Pictures of Books

Okay, so I’m like really bored right now, or something.  Just put the kid to bed and there’s nothing on television (although I might watch the Bourne Ultimatum for like the umpteenth time in a little while), so I thought, hey, why not pull out the old Nikon and snap a couple of pics of the bookcases.  Two of them are in my hallway which presented some problems.  I had to go about a third of the way down the stairs in order to get a shot of the five-shelfer, and I stepped into the bathroom to get a shot of the three-shelfer.  You’ll notice that I’ve run out of room on the three-shelf bookcases and have had to use the tops as a fourth shelf.  So far it’s working out nicely, but as you can see from the books on my desk, I still don’t have enough room.  I should have taken pictures of the boxes with books in them, but they’re in my daughter’s room and she’ll use it as an excuse to try and stay up longer.  In any event, here’s the books, a symbol of my ongoing addiction and present boredom.

  

 

   

B”H

13 thoughts on “Because I’m Bored and We All Love Pictures of Books

  1. Nick, I appreciate your boredom. I love looking at what books people have on their shelves. Your library is off to a great start. Many early seminary students would probably give their right leg (figuratively speaking) to have half of your collection. I did notice that you have The New Complete Works of Josephus with commentary by Paul L. Maier. Dr. Maier is one of my favorite authors. If you’re ever in the mood for a book, which I’d categorize as a Bible Geek’s fiction dream, then check out A Skeleton in God’s Closet. It’s a steal at $7.99. I love that book and have read it 4 or 5 times.

  2. TC: Not yet. Don’t know when I’ll get a chance either. I have to go to some stupid BBQ tomorrow at my sister’s house for my brother-in-law’s birthday. :(

    Shaun: You and me both buddy. Book pictures are the best. And I actually did give my right leg for most of those books. That’s why my pic on the about me page is only of my head! :-P I like Paul Maier too, but haven’t read anything past his commentary on Josephus. I want to get his translation of Eusebius eventually. I’ll keep the book you recommended in mind. Thanks!

  3. There are a lot of books on your shelf that I’d love to read someday. I think I lack the time more than the money at this point, but it’s nice to see your collection.

Leave a Reply

