Titus for the Next Two Weeks

My pastor asked me to go through the book of Titus and prepare a lesson plan (either for me to teach or possibly him — he wasn’t specific).  I asked how soon he needed it and he said whenever I get it ready, so I plan to take the next two weeks to work through the book of Titus.  Aside from my UBS4, various translations, and quite a few Bible dictionaries, these are the main books that I plan to utilize during my study.

titus.jpg

If anyone has any insight into Titus that they can offer I’d greatly appreciate it — especially if they can provide me with any pertinent quotes from commentaries I don’t yet own and can’t afford right now (e.g. George Knight, III’s “The Pastoral Epistles” in NIGTC or William D. Mounce’s “Pastoral Epistles” in WBC, etc…)

5 thoughts on “Titus for the Next Two Weeks

  1. Moses,

    Well, I don’t know Dunn’s personal take, but from my reading he believes that Paul’s take on the wrath of God was basically that God leaves wicked men to themselves. In my mind that doesn’t seem very wrathful.

    What do you think?

  2. LOL I was actually confusing James Dunn for C.H. Dodd, I don’t know why. Dodd’s take is that the wrath of God is impersonal; that is, not proceeding from God’s own self, but rather the “disasters” that follow from sin. I don’t know why, I was confusing them.

    Either way, I would agree with Dunn’s take of Paul. That method of expressing wrath is actually seen in the Bible quite a bit. I call it the “hand over” principle. God’s wrath is seen when God decides to hand one over to their enemies or even to their own depravity. That is my particular take of Romans 1 especially. God, in that sense, actually allows for more “free will” to the sinner to be what he/she is by nature. This is also what Jonathan Edward’s described in his “Sinner’s in the hands of an Angry God”, being held up by sheer grace.

    Well, sorry for the confusing of Dodd and Dunn. I only asked because an impersonal view of wrath would obviously have implications on handling a subject like propitiation. As I was looking for the source in Leon Morris’ book “The Atonement” I saw it was Dodd and not Dunn. My bad.

  3. Yeah, I can see how you’d make that mistake (the initials before the ‘D’ last name–could’ve happened to anybody). Dunn’s the guy who denies Christ’s personal preexistence and I must confess to being utterly ignorant of Dodd. All I know about him was that he held to a realized eschatology.

Leave a Reply

