Just to Reiterate, I LOVE the Logos App for my Android!

So I’m sitting in church this past Sunday and my pastor brings us to Genesis 4. He’s reading the ESV, I think, but I had a KJV with me. No matter, I wanted to see something else anyway and it would require taking a look at some Hebrew and Greek. Well, really some Hebrew, but I’ve always got a Greek Bible ready to go in Logos, so, the LXX got looked at too. Here’s what I saw initially:

2013-06-02 11.20.52

I was interested in the offering (מנחה) mentioned in vs. 3. So I press the word and choose “info”:

2013-06-02 11.21.00

After that some basic information pops up but the gloss isn’t really enough to satisfy my curiosity.

2013-06-02 11.21.08

I need to know a little more so I decide to do a “Bible Word Study”:

2013-06-02 11.21.24

And this, of course, offers all kinds of options, like seeing the various translations of the Hebrew word in the ESV:

2013-06-02 11.24.08

As well as a list of example uses:

2013-06-02 11.24.16

But I’m looking for something in particular; something I remembered reading about this specific word quite some time ago. So I decide to search Gesenius’ Hebrew-Chaldean Lexicon to the Old Testament:

2013-06-02 11.22.14

Finally, I find what I’m looking for! So I press firmly with my finger so that I’m able to select a particular piece of text:

2013-06-02 11.22.38

And finally I select “highlight” so it stands out the next time I need to reference it.

2013-06-02 11.22.58

So now when Cain and Abel’s sacrifices are compared I can note that they both brought a מנחה, which was a a “sacrifice without blood,” but Abel’s sacrifice also included something with some blood in it. Perhaps this is why his was looked upon with favor; because blood makes atonement. Whatever one’s interpretation, Logos can help you get to your conclusion, and in a very easy, user-friendly manner at that!

B”H

4 thoughts on “Just to Reiterate, I LOVE the Logos App for my Android!

Leave a Reply

