The Most Anticipated Book of the Year

The most anticipated book of the year will undoubtedly be N. T. Wright’s Paul and the Faithfulness of God, which is the fourth volume in his Christian Origins and the Question of God series. Paradoxically, this fourth volume will consist of three separate volumes. Someone suggested that one is going to be the book proper while the other volumes will be a collation of previously published essays. I guess we’ll find out.

But the fact that so many people are so greatly anticipating this volume suggests to me that it will probably be the biggest letdown of the year as well. I’ve not read Wright voluminously. I’ve read a bit here and there. But I’ve read enough to know that his views on Pauline theology aren’t exactly secret. I suspect that this book will simply gather together his scattered insights in one place and footnote them heavily. I seriously doubt that the devout Wright enthusiast will come away learning much more about what Wright thinks is going on with Paul.

Time will tell if my prediction is correct but I’m fairly confident that it will be. We’ll see…

B”H

5 thoughts on “The Most Anticipated Book of the Year

  1. Good one Matthew. I’m predicting nothing really new from Wright. We’ve heard and read it all. At any rate, Wright continues to make things interesting. ;-)

Leave a Reply

