Movie Notes

I haven’t written about any movies that I’ve seen in the past couple of months. The truth is that I haven’t seen many; at least if we’re talking about new movies. I’ve re-watched a bunch that I’ve seen before (e.g., Boyz N the HoodVarsity BluesProject X; etc.). But time doesn’t come in the abundance it once did and once the fall TV season started up most of my viewing time has been spent on television shows. Having said that, I will mention a few of the flicks I can remember seeing in the recent past.

This Means War — I’ve seen Chris Pine and Tom Hardy in enough movies at this point to have decided that I like them both. Teaming them up as spies who both fall for the same girl (Reese Witherspoon) was a great move. This is one of the better romantic comedies I’ve seen in a long while and I think it’s because of how well the trio plays off one another. Chelsea Handler was a bit over the top, and I’m convinced she can’t act, but the action saved anything she may have ruined.

Stake Land – I just watched this the other night. It’s an interesting twist on the vampire flick since it reads more like a zombie film. The film is set in a post-apocalyptic world that is being overrun by vampires. But the vamps are vicious and seemingly have no control over themselves. Like I said, they resemble zombies more than vampires. But the real villains in this movie are, you might have guessed, the people! This is another rip off from the zombie genre. All in all this was a decent movie but it’s not something I’d go out of my way to watch again. And whoever did the vamp makeup should have been fired. It was pretty bad.

The Tall Man – I can’t say much about this movie because it was confusing and boring and overall hard to watch. I hated every single thing about it. All I know is that kids go missing. I don’t know why or what’s being done with them. I rewound at least 5 times and still couldn’t catch what was happening. It sucked. Horribly. Don’t waste any time on this one.

Machine Gun Preacher – This was based on a true story about a ex-con drug addict biker who comes to Christ and then feels a call from the Lord to build a church and finally do missionary work in Africa. But his zeal for the children in Africa leads him to mess his marriage up badly; alienate his home church; and ultimately lose faith in God. I wasn’t sure if he ever regained it but it did seem like he was at least heading in that direction. I’d recommend this one for sure.

Get the Gringo – This was like a long episode of Prison Break. A white American thief ends up in a Mexican prison, which is really just a small city and he has to hustle in order to survive all while trying to save a young cigarette smoking kid and his mother. It was below average for a Mel Gibson movie. I’ve come to expect much more from him over the years. But it wasn’t bad. It was just okay.

Something from Nothing: The Art of Rap – If I’m not mistaken, this documentary marked Ice T’s directorial debut. I thoroughly enjoyed watching Ice T interview some of the best rappers in the world and asking them about how they approach the craft.

That’ll do it.

B”H

Leave a Reply

