In the Mail

About 6 weeks ago I noted that I discovered that Nathan MacDonald’s doctoral dissertation “One God or One Lord: Deuteronomy and the Meaning of ‘Monotheism’” online. This, of course, was the basis for his published volume Deuteronomy and the Meaning of Monotheism. I also noted how that volume had eluded me for years and how pleased I was to find the dissertation online. Well, that very day I learned that Mohr Siebeck had just published a second edition of the book and I promptly requested a review copy. It arrived today! I can’t wait to really dig into this thing! And let me just mention that Eisenbrauns has it for $79.00, which is actually pretty reasonable given the high quality of Mohr books.

I also received a copy of Jesus the Messiah: Tracing the Promises, Expectations, and Coming of Israel’s King by Herbert W. Bateman IV; Darrell L. Bock; and Gordon H. Johnson from Kregel Academic. I’ve been waiting a long time for this book. A quick perusal through my emails shows that I first requested a copy on November 19, 2010! That’s over 2 years! After thumbing through it for a few minutes after receiving it I’m sure that I won’t be disappointed. It definitely has a textbook feel to it; plenty of charts, graphs, and sidebars to keep the eye busy. But I have already spotted a typo, which I’ve spotted in other volumes. Take a look and see if you can find it:

typo

B”H

6 thoughts on “In the Mail

  1. Oh dear! Unfortunately, since my eyes immediately gravitate to any Greek text I see, that’s an unfortunate typo. Not to terrible though. It’s got manuscript authority: after all, the Byzantine scribes certainly didn’t use final sigma invariably :-P.

Leave a Reply

