Just Ordered

So I asked about the Kindle Fire the other day and mentioned in the comments to that post that I had my heart set on getting one and was looking to see if I could be dissuaded. A few folks did succeed in dissuading me. The truth is that I wanted something that I could watch Netflix on that wasn’t my laptop. That was my main reason for wanting one (and if I’m honest, I really want an iPad but just can’t afford it). Reading PDFs and ebooks would have been a bonus. But the more I thought about a Kindle Fire or some other kind of tablet, the more I realized that I’m really not locked in to needing something portable. I just want to watch Netflix without having to sit at the desk (I realize that I have a laptop but it’s a pain to unhook everything and move it; it functions as a desktop for me).

So then I thought about getting a PS3. My daughter has one and we watch Netflix on that sometimes. But the PS3 I wanted (the 320 GB Uncharted 3 bundle) was pricey, and since my daughter already has one that I can use whenever I feel like it, I couldn’t justify the cost. So then I remembered that Sony makes a Blu-ray player that is essentially a PS3 without the ability to play games. That’s a third of the cost and it would serve my purposes perfectly. I can watch Netflix, Hulu, Amazon instant video, and even play Pandora, and all of this in addition to being able to watch Blu-rays and DVDs.

So I bit the bullet and ordered a Sony BDP-S390 Blu-ray Disc Player with Wi-Fi. This is pretty much exactly what I was looking for all along. Sure, I can’t read books on it, but I’m not really in the market for an ebook reader. And if I do decide to get one then I can get a regular Kindle at the end of the month. And I wasn’t really thrilled about the idea of reading PDFs on a 7″ screen. The truth is that I prefer my PDFs on my laptop. I don’t mind sitting at a desk to read them. But now I’ll be able to sit in from of the TV or lay in bed and watch all the movies I want and I’m quite happy with that.

B”H

2 thoughts on “Just Ordered

  1. Smart.

    I had not realized how thoroughly Sony had integrated Amazon Prime videos into its Blu Ray players. I use a Roku to watch Amazon Prime videos and I hate it. I’ll be interested in hearing your experiences with this device.

    A pad-based device still may be useful to you at some point as an alternative to lugging a computer around. But it sounds like you have the situation under control.

  2. Theophrastus: I would like to get some kind of tablet (hopefully an iPad) in the future but it’s not pressing. I’ll let you know how this handles the Amazon instant video. If it’s as good as the PS3 then I can already tell you that it handles them well. I’ll find out in a few days.

Leave a Reply

