Now I Gotta Read It

Generally when a book gets a lot of attention I wonder if it’s worth it. When I read bevies of fawning reviews I’m almost sure to ignore it. That’s just the way I am. I can’t explain why. Same goes for me and music. Anyway… I’ve just finished reading Michael Horton’s review of Scot McKnight’s The King Jesus Gospel and I have to say that it actually made me want to read the book. Horton is both appreciative and critical—his criticisms make me want to read the book.

So I’ll try to pick up a copy sometime in the near future and see what all the hubbub is about. I would have taken the opportunity to review it but it was a blog tour thing and I can’t commit to blog tours these days since I never know when I’ll actually get the time to read through something and write it up. Anyway… Horton’s review also made me want to return to his The Christian Faith. Hopefully I’ll find time to do that soon.

B”H

6 thoughts on “Now I Gotta Read It

  1. I just missed out when Zondervan was giving away 30 copies of McKnight’s book! I overheard Dr. Bock talking to another student the other day about his (Bock’s) review of it. I’ll have to look into that one as well.

Leave a Reply

