All Things

My pastor’s favorite verse in the Bible is Romans 8:28: “And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.” This verse holds a special place in my heart as well. It’s one of the first passages of Scripture that I committed to memory. But I’m a living witness that it’s true as the events of last evening prove. Here goes:

I was on my way to Bible study and as I was driving I was talking to my friend on the phone. I began to sweat a little bit when I realized that I had forgotten to put on deodorant after I showered. I mentioned this to him and he made a wise crack, which pushed me over the edge in my decision to turn around since I was still close to home. I turned into a parking lot on the road I was traveling and when I hit the breaks the pedal went down completely to the floor and the car continued rolling. All I could say was, “O God, O God, O  God!” before the car finally stopped just short of me rolling into a grassy ditch next to the parking lot.

I was able to get the car home and I eventually got to Bible study but here’s how all things worked together for good. Had I not forgotten to put on deodorant I would have never mentioned it to my friend. He never would have made the crack and I probably wouldn’t have turned around. I would have continued along the road and then I would have surely ended up either rolling through a stop light, a stop sign, or smashing into a car in front of me. The chances of me getting to Bible study with no breaks and without getting into some kind of accident seems very unlikely.

One of my mantras is: “God knows what he’s doing,” and I think the NIV translation of Romans 8:28 helps to bring this out when it says, “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.” So join me in thanking and praising God for making a potentially life ending situation work out for my well being!

B”H

8 thoughts on “All Things

  1. Indeed God’s grace and glory, are both from His loving providence & purpose in His elect. HE is working in His People! But the “ordo salutis”, in the temporal order of causes and effects, is accomplished in God’s calling, regeneration, etc. Certainly “perseveranita” is in the list!

  2. Yes! We praise God and thank Him for the protection of His saints! This situation was pretty straight forward and evident, but we continue to praise Him even when it looks like His angels have forgotten their charge….No matter what we think we see, God is ALWAYS working in us for our good! His word NEVER fails! How wonderful to be on the receiving end of that grace and be able to see it in action. Our God is AWESOME! Sometimes I guess He needs to remind us. Most times everything works and we go about our lives unaware…*: )

    Psalm 105
    1 Give thanks to the Lord and proclaim his greatness.
    Let the whole world know what he has done.

  3. Fr. Robert: You lost me with the Latin. ;-)

    Nancy: Amen and amen!

    Chuck I wouldn’t doubt it.

    Kyle: Yes he is!

    Tom: Thanks! I forget it all too easily as well. Shame on us!

Leave a Reply

