My Arrangement

This started as a comment on Jason’s blog but got way too long so I’ve decided to post it here for all to see.  Jason asked how others arrange their bookcases.  So I’ll go case by case:

In the hallway I have two bookcases arranged by the following subjects:

  1. Commentaries, OT/NT/Biblical Theology, Dictionaries, ANF, NPNF2
    .
  2. Eschatology, Pentecostal/Charismatic, Calvinism, Systematic Theology, Church History, Qu’ran(s), Text Books (various subjects), Jehvoah’s Witnesses, Misc. (i.e., short books that will fit on the middle shelf)

In the room I have four (well five really) bookcases arranged by the following subjects:

  1. Exegesis, Hermeneutics, NT Introduction, Gospels, Textual Criticism, Biblical Canon, Christology, Historical Jesus, Misc. NT
    .
  2. Historical Jesus, Pauline Studies, Trinity, Patristics, Heresiology
    .
  3. Apologetics, Greek Lexicons/Grammars/Bibles, Hebrew Lexicons/Grammars/Bibles, Extra-Biblical, Bible Background
    .
  4. Random Review books, Misc. Theological books, Jewish, Apologetics
    .
  5. Bibles

And then of course on my desk I have some original language Bibles, the Apostolic Fathers, and Metzger’s A Textual Commentary on the Greek New Testament.  Oh, and I forgot to mention that I have a number of boxes filled with books sitting under a table in the hallway.

Here’s some random pieces of information about my classifications and book shelves:

  • All commentaries are arranged by series, not books of the Bible.
    .
  • All books on Christology are delineated between single authored and multi-authored volumes and arranged chronologically.
    .
  • All books on the Trinity are arranged by:
    .

    1. multi-authored works
    2. introductory works
    3. the contemporary bigwigs (i.e., Barth, Rahner, Staniloae)
    4. works directly related to their books
    5. surveys
    6. gender debate/Trinity
    7. Reformation/Post-Reformation era works on the Trinity
    8. anti-Trinity
  • I’ve had to use the tops of all the bookcases to house more books since I ran out of shelf space long ago, hence the seemingly strange pairings of Apologetics with Greek & Hebrew Resources.
    .
  • Bookcase #4 in the room isn’t actually a bookcase at all, it’s really a media shelf for CDs or DVDs so most of the books hang over the shelves.

More could be said but that’ll have to do it for now.

B”H

8 thoughts on “My Arrangement

  1. Jason: It works for now but I really need more space. I don’t like having my historical Jesus books separated, nor do I like having to use the tops of the smaller bookcases as additional shelves. I’d like to reserve that space for pictures and things of that nature.

  2. I understand your plight. In my office I have about 15 shelves and they’re all full. My books at home are spilling onto the floor, so I desperately need more space. I guess I could get rid of some…Well, no, I couldn’t!

  3. 3 wall-mounted cases with 4 (I knew my math seemed wrong) shelves each, covering about 2/3 of the wall. I have about 20 boxes full of books against the walls in my office; very warehouse-ish. If I had the time and money, rest assured I would have 15 cases filled to capacity!!!

Leave a Reply

