Odds and Ends

I had planned to spend the day reading and writing a couple of reviews but instead I went to get my oil changed, stopped at Walmart and picked up an air filter for my car, and I’m about to go and see some movie about monkeys with my daughter. 

Tonight at 9 PM on Spike TV Anderson Silva will be making the move up from middleweight to light heavyweight and fighting James Irvin.  Should be good.  I predict a victory for Silva. 

Tomorrow I’m going on some lunch cruise for my brother-in-law’s birthday.  I’m not looking forward to it, but I really can’t get out of it.

I was rearranging some books last night and I have multiple copies of Charles Taze Russell’s The Divine Plan of the Ages.  It’s as heretical as they come, but if anyone wants one of the extra (two) copies let me know and I’ll get it out to you at my earliest convenience. 

Couple of book reviews today.  Drew’s here; Tyler’s here; and Danny’s here.  Check them out.  And in other book review related news, this is the most creative post I’ve seen. 

That’ll do it… I’m off to watch cartoon monkeys.

B”H

20 thoughts on “Odds and Ends

  1. Nick,

    Thanks for shopping at Walmart. I can always use the extra cash.

    Rearranging books, eh? I always imagine you sleeping on a pile of books like a dragon with his hoard. Was it getting uncomfortable?

  2. Brainofdtrain: Sure thing.

    Chuck: Walmart is like my favorite place. And you can take that extra cash and purchase me some books if you really want to be smart with your money. ;)

    I could never sleep on a book for fear of damaging it. What kind of monster do you think that I am?

  3. brainofdtrain: I sent an email to the address you list in your commenter information, but if you want to reach me then it’s:

    prophetnick77 [AT] aol [DOT] com

  4. Nick: Me, buy you books? In the words of Keith Giffen: BWAH HA HA!!

    “What kind of monster do you think I am?”

    Don’t ask questions you don’t want answers to. ;-)

  5. Nick: Someone who needs to develop the habit of reading? Someone who hasn’t got a “to be read” list as long as a brontosaurus’ tail? Someone whose house isn’t going to burst at the seams, so to speak, for all the books in it?

    In other words, someone who isn’t Nick Norelli?

    BTW, all these arguments are completely applicable to my DVD collection. ;-)

  6. Nick: I’ll have to break down and read my copy of _Oneness Pentecostals and the Trinity_ and see if I think you’re up for it.

    Meanwhile I’m enjoying David Dockery’s latest book so much I might avtually write a book review. Alert the media!

  7. Chuck: I didn’t know you had a copy. Let me know what you think of it if you do ever get around to reading it.

    What’s the title of the Dockery book?

  8. Nick: I dunno. I haven’t watched it either. Don’t tell anyone or I’ll have my “James White fanboy” tatoo permanently removed in a painful fashion.

  9. Chuck: Oh, that’s the Sabin debate. I actually have the MP3 of that one. And a nice guy named Drew sent me a DVD of his debate with Sabin in Florida a while back. Sabin failed to impress both times.

Leave a Reply

